ScHoolboy Q Returns with “BLUE LIPS”: A Deep Dive into his Long-awaited Sixth Studio Album

After a hiatus of several years, acclaimed L.A. rapper ScHoolboy Q makes a triumphant return to the music scene with his highly anticipated sixth studio album, “BLUE LIPS.” Following his last release in 2019 with “CrasH Talk,” this latest project marks a significant moment in his discography, offering fans a fresh perspective on his distinctive style and lyrical prowess.

Prefacing the album’s release, ScHoolboy Q teased listeners with the single “Yeern 101,” setting the stage for the eclectic mix of tracks to come. Accompanying the album are several visually captivating music videos, including “Bluesides,” “Cooties,” “Love Birds,” and “Back n Love,” each offering glimpses into the thematic depth of “BLUE LIPS.”

One of the notable features of the album is its impressive lineup of guest artists, with contributions from the likes of Rico Nasty, Freddie Gibbs, Jozzy, Devin Malik, and ScHoolboy’s Black Hippy compatriot, Ab-Soul. This diverse range of collaborators adds layers of complexity to the album, infusing it with fresh energy and perspectives.

In a recent interview with the podcast Back on Figg, ScHoolboy Q shed light on his approach to music-making and the reason behind his extended breaks between album releases. He emphasized that his creative process is driven by a desire for authenticity and personal growth rather than commercial considerations.

“When it comes to music, I don’t look at it as like, ‘Oh, you have to drop every year,’” he explained. “No, your favorite rapper has to drop every year because he needs [money]. I do what I want because I move off peace, I move off my experiences.”

This sentiment underscores the introspective nature of “BLUE LIPS,” as ScHoolboy Q delves into themes of introspection, resilience, and self-discovery. Through his candid lyrics and innovative production, he invites listeners to join him on a journey of exploration and transformation.

As “BLUE LIPS” makes its mark on the hip-hop landscape, it serves as a testament to ScHoolboy Q’s artistic evolution and unwavering commitment to authenticity. With its rich sonic textures and thought-provoking lyricism, the album cements his status as one of the genre’s most compelling voices.

For fans eagerly awaiting new music from ScHoolboy Q, “BLUE LIPS” is a testament to his enduring relevance and creative vision. As he continues to push the boundaries of hip-hop, this latest offering stands as a testament to his enduring legacy in the music industry.

Blue Lips Tracklist
1. Funny Guy
2. Pop (feat. Rico Nasty)
3. THank God 4 Me
4. Blueslides
5. Yeern 101
6. Love Birds (feat. Devin Malik & Lance Skiiiwalker)
7. Movie (feat. AZ Chike)
8. Cooties
9. OHio (feat. Freddie Gibbs)
10. Foux (feat. Ab-Soul)
11. First
12. Nunu
13. Back N Love (feat. Devin Malik)
14. Lost Times (feat. Jozzy)
15. Germany 86′
16. Time Killers
17. Pig Feet (feat. Childish Major)
18. Smile